Skip to main content
Back
Prof. Yi Guan
Prof. Yi Guan
Division of Public Health Laboratory Sciences
Daniel CK Yu Professorship in Virology

Professor Guan is the Director of the State Key Laboratory of Emerging Infectious Diseases and the Centre of Influenza Research, The University of Hong Kong. His research focuses on the ecology, evolution and pathogenesis of influenza and other emerging respiratory viruses. Over the past decade, his research team has made distinguished contributions to research in virology and to the control of emerging infectious diseases in China and the world. His contribution to the field is reflected in his publication record of over 280 peer-reviewed articles with more than 26,000 citations and an h-index of 79.

Professor Guan’s research on influenza has 1) identified all the major precursors and transmission pathways of the H5N1 influenza viruses that currently circulate in Southeast Asia, Europe and Africa and provided most of the WHO recommended pre-pandemic H5N1 vaccine strains; 2) initiated the systematic study of H9N2 viruses, which, along with H5 viruses, are now regarded as the most likely novel influenza subtypes to cause a pandemic; 3) defined the critical role of domestic ducks in harbouring and spreading influenza viruses; 4) made a major contribution to recognising the emergence, evolutionary history and development of the 2009 H1N1 pandemic virus; and 5) revealed the genesis, infection source, evolutionary pathway and possible transmission route of the recently-found H7N9 influenza virus.

His work on SARS led to the successful identification of the SARS-Coronavirus and its infectious source in live animal markets and helped the Chinese government to successfully avert a second SARS outbreak in early 2004.

Professor Guan was recently ranked as a highly cited researcher (2014) and is ranked 11th in the world in the field of microbiology (Thomson). He has obtained substantial grant funding from the NIH in the USA, the Wellcome Trust fund and the WHO, as well as from local government sources and private foundations. Time magazine has twice featured him, first as one of 18 “Global Health Heros” and later as an “Asian Hero”.

跳往主要内容
返回
管轶教授
管轶教授
香港大学公共卫生学院教授
香港大学新发传染疾病国家重点实验室主任
于崇光基金教授席(病毒学)

管轶教授是香港大学公共卫生学院教授、香港大学新发传染疾病国家重点实验室主任、于崇光基金教授席(病毒学)。其研究集中在流感和其他新发呼吸道病毒的生态、演化和发病机制。 管轶博士的研究团队在过去十年中为病毒学研究和中国乃至全世界控制新发传染病方面做出了杰出贡献,发表同行评审论文260 余篇,论文引用次数超过26000次,H指数高达79。

管教授在流感方面的研究成就包括1)确定了现时在东南亚、欧洲和非洲地区传播的H5N1流感病毒的所有主要前体和传播途径,提供了世卫组织提出的大多数大流行前期H5N1疫苗株;2)开展了H9N2病毒的系统研究,该病毒与H5 病毒被视为最可能导致流行病的新流感亚型;3)确定了家鸭在携带和传播流感病毒中的关键作用;4)为识别 2009年H1N1流行性病毒的出现、演化史和发展作出了重要贡献;5)揭示了近期出现的H7N9流感病毒的发生、传染源、 演化过程和 可能的传播途径。2002-2003年非典病毒(SARS)爆发期间,管轶教授成功确定了SARS冠状病毒及其活禽畜市场的传染源,帮助内地政府成功避免了2004年年初SARS的再次爆发。

管教授近期被评为高引用频次研究学者(2014)、微生物领域世界排名第11(汤森路透)。他获得了来自美国国立卫生研究院、威康信托基金会、世界卫生组织及本地政府和私人基金会的资助。他曾被美国《时代》杂志报道,先后被评为全球18名「全球卫生英雄」之一和「亚洲英雄」。